Economic Development Department

Depositors Compensation Scheme

NOTICE – August 2012

The Banking Business (Depositors Compensation) (Jersey) Regulations 2009 ("**the Regulations**") were passed by the States on 6th November 2009 meaning that a Depositors Compensation Scheme is in place providing protection to depositors up to £50,000.

Under Regulation 6 of the Banking Business (Depositors Compensation) (Jersey) Regulations 2009 ("**the Regulations**"), the Minister for Economic Development has grouped the following banks:

HSBC Bank International Limited HSBC Bank Middle East Limited HSBC Bank Plc, Jersey Branch HSBC Private Bank (C.I.) Limited, Jersey Branch

Bank of Scotland Plc, Jersey Branch Lloyds TSB Bank Plc, Jersey Branch Lloyds TSB Offshore Limited

Barclays Bank Plc, Jersey Branch Barclays Private Bank & Trust Limited Barclays Private Clients International Limited, Jersey Branch

National Westminster Bank Plc The Royal Bank of Scotland International Limited The Royal Bank of Scotland Plc

Citibank (Channel Islands) Limited Citibank N.A., Jersey Branch Citicorp Banking Corporation, Jersey Branch

Abbey National International Limited Santander UK plc, Jersey Branch

BNP Paribas S.A, Jersey Branch BNP Paribas Securities Services S.C.A., Jersey Branch BNP Paribas (Suisse) SA, Jersey Branch

Standard Chartered (Jersey) Limited Standard Chartered Bank, Jersey Branch

The banks included in each group of banks will be taken to be one bank for the purposes of calculating compensation and levies in respect of those banks. This means that where a depositor has accounts with more than one bank in the same group, those deposits will only be protected up to £50,000.

The above is <u>not</u> a complete list of banks covered by the Depositors Compensation Scheme.

A complete list of Jersey banks, which are covered by the Depositors Compensation Scheme, is available from the Jersey Financial Services Commission website at:

http://www.jerseyfsc.org/banking_business/regulated_entities/index.asp